Cyril Ramaphosa was re-elected in the May 29 general election

The new Deputy President, Ministers and Deputy Ministers of the seventh administration officially started their roles in Cape Town on Wednesday as they took their oaths in a ceremony officiated by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo.

The ceremony was attended by President Cyril Ramaphosa and Deputy President Paul Mashatile who congratulated the newly appointed Ministers and Deputy Ministers. During the event, the president emphasized that he appointed them based on his constitutional authority.

Speaking to the press after the swearing-in, President Ramaphosa described the event as a historic moment for South Africa. "It has been a very difficult and complicated process. It's now come to an end and to a start. It's a fresh start for all of us in South Africa," the president said, SA News reported.

He added, "Today was a historic moment in constituting the Executive of our country in the form of Ministers and Deputy Ministers, who have all collectively been assuring me... that they are going to work and they are going to make South Africans proud."

Ramaphosa appreciated South Africans for showing trust in the government, adding that no time will be wasted as they are all set to work "very hard" to take the country forward.

Mashatile took the first oath as the Deputy President and said, "I will be faithful to the Republic of South Africa and will obey, observe, uphold and maintain the Constitution and all other laws of the Republic; and I solemnly and sincerely promise that I will always promote all that will advance the Republic and oppose all that may harm it."

He promised to be a true and faithful counselor, discharge his duties with all his strength and talents to the best of his knowledge and ability, ensure justice for everyone and devote himself to the well-being of the Republic and all of its people.

Following Mashatile, other executives also took oath including the Minister of Basic Education Siviwe Gwarube, Deputy Minister in the Presidency Nonceba Mhlauli, Finance Deputy Minister Ashor Sarupen and Deputy Minister of the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition Zuko Godlimpi.

Aside from the above-mentioned new faces in the cabinet, some old faces are returning, for instance, Sihle Zikalala will be serving as Deputy Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure (DPWI). In the previous administration, Zikalala served as minister of the same department.